23 December 2011

Two days before Christmas.  Three years since Woutertjie was admitted to hospital the first time.  I’ve been having a very tough day.  I don’t really know why.  It is just another day.  For a while I’ve been feeling like an oncology fraud.  We’ve walked the walk, yes, but we are past all of that now, aren’t we?  And then a day like today happens and I’m more brittle than a fresh Flake.

I don’t have much to say so I’m going to go to bed now.  Tomorrow it will be three years since diagnosis.  I hope it will be a better day than today.  Strangely, last year didn’t hit me as hard.  Time is supposed to heal.  Go figure.

2 Responses

  1. I’m like that every May. It just becomes a more anxious time. A time I relive everything that started going wrong. Unfortunately I don’t think it is something that will ever go away. Hugs and thoughts!!!

  2. It does get easier 🙂 it’s often harder for the parents especially when your son or daughter was so young at the time…don’t ever feel a fraud Suzanne, this is survivorship, it’s not always easy, but it can be most of the time, but acknowledge the not so good days…it’s your body and mind catching up with what you didn’t have to time to think too much about back then x

Leave a Reply

