Sympathy post

If you are a longtime reader you will know by now that I’m not the best sufferer in the world.  I don’t do being sick.  I become the sorriest-for-myself creature you have ever seen.  But this week I don’t have to feel that sorry for myself – other people are doing it.  I managed to get the flu.  Baaaad flu.  And then the kids got it.  Baaaaad.

Our GP isn’t into needless prescriptions but she insisted on the kids taking Tamiflu (the swine flu medication) when I told her that their fever stayed at 40C and wouldn’t respond to medication.  So now, 36 hours (and 3 doses) later they are bouncing off the walls, still with occasional fevers but mostly OK.  Whereas I, who was not put on Tamiflu, am 5 days down the track and still feeling like death warmed over.  Actually like chicken leftovers warmed over, then left out in the sun.  I can honestly say that I don’t feel better today than yesterday.

Oh – for the record – we weren’t tested for swine flu (H1N1) but since the kids had such high fever with no signs of infection anywhere else, the GP ruled it wise to treat their flu as swine flu.  And since only swine flu responds to Tamiflu and they are a lot better already, I have no doubt that we have/had swine flu.  I couldn’t get Tamiflu since you have to start it within 48 hours of the start of symptoms and I only went to the doctor after that, when I had secondary infection already.  I am a mommy.  I don’t have time to get sick.  And now I have lots and lots of time being sick. 😉

3 Responses

  1. I hope you feel better by now. We had the pigger in 2009 and gosh, we were sick, Tamiflu and all.

  2. Ai, hoop jy voel sommer vinnig beter! Gelukkig is dit nou vakansie – geen gerond ryery nie… Sterkte!

  3. Alle simpatie suster. Mag die otte jou uitlos.

Leave a Reply

