Happy anniversary to us

I am in a bit of a predicament.  I am at a loss for words. 

Today we celebrated Boeta’s second year of being in remission.  And the shocking bit?  I only realised that it was a significant date when someone asked me during the course of the day how long Boeta has been in remission and it hit me like a hammer to the head – it is the 16th of March.  The day after my sister’s birthday. 

I thought I would live for, look forward to, strive for this day every year.  The same way that I dread, loath, abhor 23 December.  But here it snuck up on me.  Does this mean that I may just be starting to rejoin normal life?  I’ve given a brave step in that direction last week.  During a Oncomom Tea I dramatically and symbolically took the tube of Emla* that I still carried in my handbag and handed it over to a new mom.  Until that moment Jane was a Mother Who Dealt With Paediatric Cancer.  Now she is an Oncomom.  Respect, Jane!

Boeta and Carien are in bed, sleeping like logs.  I look at them and can’t reconcile what I see with the sick, skinny boy and the baby girl we had 2 years ago.  They are both loud, healthy, busy and such a blessing.

Please join us in a prayer of thanks.  Give thanks for Boeta’s healing and for the amazing people who were involved in the process.  We couldn’t have done this without you.

*Emla is a topical anaesthetic cream that is applied to the skin before drips are inserted and injections are given.  It helps a bit for the physical pain and a lot for the mental agony.

5 Responses

  1. Dit is wonderlik. Mens kan net so ongelooflik dankbaar wees!!

  2. Brilliant news. Lets hope he has many many many MANY more remission anniversaries.

  3. Wat ‘n genade! Ek is bitter bly julle kan al 2 jaar van remissie vier.

  4. wow 2 years!!! that’s just an amazing achievement

  5. Saying thank you for all the grace with you!

Leave a Reply

