TGIF

That would be, Today God Is First.  I was invited to speak at the Dutch Reformed Church Durbanville Bergsig this morning.  At 05:30.  And I was there.  On time.  At 05:30.  Can you believe it?  Admittedly, I prayed last night for a good night’s sleep and for a clear head when I wake.  I’ve been known to snooze the alarm for 2 hours and still deny ever hearing it in the first place.

I spent a great deal of today second guessing myself.  I am usually excellent at timing my speaking but today I had until 07:00, I wanted to finish at 06:50 and I only finished at 07:00.  Being a bit of a control freak I am devastated that I overshot.  Quite ironic since my conclusion to the talk was that we as humans should make peace with the fact that we can’t always be in control.  And then I drove home beating myself up because I didn’t control everything.  Note to self:  follow your own advice, smartass.

Carien decided not to go to school today.  When we drove to school to fetch Boeta I yawned from ear to ear.  My early day started to catch up with me. 

S:  (making conversation)  Are you just as tired as mommy is?

C:  (yawning too)  Yes.

silence

C:  (thoughtful)  Mommy, I think you should look and drive and then I will sleep a bit.  (Ek dink Mamma moet so kyk en ry en dan sal ekke ‘n bietjie slapies)

Thanks, doll.  I really appreciate your cooperation.  So I looked, I drove, and she didn’t take the opportunity to sleep.  I mean, really???  It was 40 degrees Celsius in Cape Town today.  Keeping still and sleeping seemed like the logical options to me. 

Oh well.  She will grow up, grow old and wish for the days when she could sleep every day.  Like I do.

2 Responses

  1. Great to hear the speech went well.

  2. Groot drukkie vir die vriendin op wie ek so trots is.

Leave a Reply

