Back to school

Today Boeta and Carien started at their new school.  And they had a marvelous time.  They didn’t miss me at all.  I had to practically drag Woutertjie back for a kiss – he was on his way to the carpet with the rest of his Grade R class and I was a nuisance.  The joys of parenthood.

Carien fell into line with the kids in her class as soon as the bell rang – an old-fashioned hand bell.  Very quaint and very lovely.  I had to accost her too.

The lesson from this day seems to be that I should deal with my issues.  I had an appointment with my psychiatrist during their school day.  She reckons I have separation anxiety.  I don’t.  I just don’t like being away from my children.  *insert belligerent face here*

Either way.  It went well.  Which is more than I could say for the rest of my day.  The Vito had to get new brake pads.  Do you know how much brake pads (not disks) for that money sucking Merc cost?  R2400.  And that excludes the labour.  And now it still has to go for a service.  I give up.  Financially this has been a really really rough couple of months and now this.  I know that it is part and parcel of owning a vehicle but I didn’t sign up for this kind of maintenance costs when we bought the Vito.  Moral of the story?  Just because you can get a car for a good price doesn’t mean that you should take it! 🙂

3 Responses

  1. How exciting that they started school 🙂

  2. Mwahahahahahaha! I can so relate to this:

    “She reckons I have separation anxiety. I don’t. I just don’t like being away from my children. *insert belligerent face here”

    Sounds like you are raising two lovely, well-adjusted young ones there even if you are neurotic (stand in line and take a number sister!)

  3. Glad it went well with them. I try to have the smallest vehicle that takes 3 kids – I kicked against a Vito because of the size, not the cost. Now friends of me are also complaining about their second hand Vito costs.

Leave a Reply

