Week 55, day 1

Yes, we are in the second to last week of treatment.  I am  s l o w l y  getting used to the idea but is freaks me out!  I went from being a full time working mom to a full time hospital mom.  What am I going to do when I am neither?  I don’t mean it in the how-am-I-going-to-fill-my-days sense.  Since I am at home I’ve worked harder than I ever did at work.  And the hours suck! 😀

I had to fill in a form at a doctor on Friday.  Everything went well until I got to the “occupation” bit.  What is my occupation?  I used to be a scientist.  Then I was a scientist on extended unpaid leave while Woutertjie was receiving treatment.  Following that I became unemployed as a result of the unexpected extension of Woutertjie’s treatment due to periodic sickness.  Now I am what?  I don’t see myself as a housewife, but stating my occupation as unemployed implies that I am looking for work which I’m not.  Not until everything is settled at home at least.  I do want to join the work force again – preferable half day this time – but that will only be once the rehabilitation of both children is complete. 

It is very hard for me to consider letting go of the oncomom label.  It has been a shield behind which I could hide this whole year.  What now?

.

Treatment went well today.  FBC:  Hb 9.2   platelets 312   total white count 3.1 .  He got some more Vincristine and Irinotecan and we got home before the sun set.  But in Cape Town in summer that doesn’t say a lot – the sun only sets properly at 20:30!

When we got to hospital this morning Boeta insisted on being driven by the hospital’s golf cart that is used to ferry less mobile patients from their cars to the hospital doors and back.  The cart wasn’t even in operation yet but the security office made a plan and the next moment the cart was there.  Woutertjie sat in front and I perched on the back as we went for a tour of the hospital grounds.  Most importantly for Boeta was driving up onto the roof parking area and then down again through the “quick tunnels” (better known as down the ramp).  He was telling the driver where to go and chatting constantly.  Shameless, I tell you.

6 Responses

  1. Dinge het ‘n manier om reg uit te werk. Een van my vriendinne se nou die dag vir my (het seker gekla oor al die balle in die lug – werkende ma van 2 kleintjies) JUST KEEP ON BATTING – een dag op ‘n slag, pas jou paaltjies op… hoop dit maak sin. Dink aan jou! x

  2. “Shameless” se voet, Mamma.

  3. Goeie krieket raad. Net soos hoe mens ‘n olifant opeet – een happie op ‘n slag.

    Sterkte met die besluite

  4. Ag verandering, selfs goeie vernadering is nooit maklik nie.

  5. Just “mom” will do just fine and who are we to know what wonderful opportunities the future might hold!

  6. I’m still struggling to really figure out where I fit in and it’s been nearly 6 months off treatment. At first I completely and utterly hated staying home, then I got a job and I thought whoo-hoo this is cool, and now? Now I really hate working the hours that I do, dealing with stupid companies giving bad service and all the politics that go along with it. It’s hard to explain to others.

Leave a Reply

