In hindsight

Over the years there have been so many times that I asked myself what the purpose of my current situation might be.  I prefer believing that everything happens for a reason – if not for that I don’t see why one shouldn’t take the easy way out of any situation.

As time went by I could see the patterns behind me.  I had to do certain things or be exposed to certain situations to form me into the person I am today.  What I am supposed to do with this today-person I don’t know.  But in 10 years time I am sure I will be able to look back and recognise the purpose.

One of the things that I’ve never been able to understand is why I had to spend 2 years working for the worst employer in the history of mankind.  That woman drove everyone nuts and blamed the sky-high turnover of staff on laziness / stupidity / whatever took her fancy.  I, the ultimate play-it-safer, resigned from my position before I had another job lined up.  I was that desperate to get away from there.    Today I realised that there may have been a bit of method in that particular madness.  Not her madness though.  No method there.  At all. 

As we were going to get Boeta’s weekly blood counts done, my mom phoned to tell me that someone the children spent a lot of time with last week has contracted mumps.  Let’s see.  One the one hand, mumps.  On the other hand, a child with no immunity.  And me caught in the middle of the hands.

Joy.

Not.

The interesting bit for me was the way that I grabbed Woutertjie’s vaccination chart on our way out of the door and knew that they needed to do an antibody titre to see if he had enough defense against mumps.  Which they did.  I am still waiting for the results on that – since Gerrit hasn’t phoned me I guess that we are safe.  Either way – I knew that I had to tell the nurse before she drew the blood that Woutertjie was potentially exposed to mumps so that they could get the tests done.  I am impressed with myself and my snippets of knowledge.  But then, I am fabulous that way.

.

PS:  After leaving the horrible boss I got a job with the best boss in the whole world.  When Inga heard that I had to resign from my last position she immediately mentioned that she may have bit and pieces of contract work for me when I am ready to return to the workforce.  I think she may just like me too.

6 Responses

  1. I hope he doesn’t get mumps.

    I was wondering who it was at UCT who was so bad, and then it dawned on me that it wasn’t at UCT … As clinicians we were treated differently, and had freedom to do as we pleased for many things.

  2. Ai girl, sometimes we just don’t know why. I really hope he skips the mumps.

  3. I am pretty sure that she does like you, I like you and I have never met you, holding thumbs on mumps

  4. I wonder who that awful boss was??!!! I unfortunately had to stick it out until she left. That was the best day of my life, until now of course, because now I’ve resigned – long after she left though.

    You should’ve brought me the mumps. I would’ve had a result for you within an hour, for free (don’t tell anyone). Silly girl – use me while you still can!

  5. Now this is a gooood friend! LOL!

  6. Duidelik! No, UCT and its staff treated me well. I was sorely tempted to just name her but then I thought that may sound vindictive. So I didn’t. Because I am taking the high road.

    (can you hear the superiority?)

Leave a Reply

