Vomit, vomit, vomit

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve been vomited on today.  Carien has a tummy bug or something.  Boeta has a sensitive stomach.  I suspect both of them simply has too much phlegm.  Either way, I woke up covered in vomit this morning and I spent most of the day changing their clothes and mine.

I took both of them for physio this afternoon.  Woutertjie is used to it after receiving treatment in hospital.  Carien wasn’t impressed.  At all.  But Ilse is the best.  Some people shouldn’t work with children.  She may.  I can’t believe how much phlegm came out of Carien’s little body.  Afterwards she obviously felt a lot better.  But just to remind us not to take anything for granted, she redecorated all our bedding with partially digested food again an hour ago.  The fun of having children.

Gerrit suspects that there is a rhinovirus (a cold virus) doing the rounds that also causes vomiting and diarrhoea.  We know that Woutertjie has/had rhinovirus.  And he has been nauseous for a long time now (even with no chemo).  He redecorated my car’s backseat today.  And his carseat.  And his clothes. 

I think I am going to take a very long shower now.

Side note:  If Woutertjie’s lungs are OK by tomorrow he will have his CT scan on Friday.  It will be the first scan since March when he was declared clean.  He needs to have anaesthetic so his lungs have to be 100%.  Please say a prayer that he will have his scan on Friday and that it will be clean.  He can’t start with his next round of chemo until he had the scan.

4 Responses

  1. Goeie more!
    Sjoe, ek en braak is glad nie maatjies nie. Jy is seker al immuun daarteen? Dink ek sal gek raak as albei my kinders die hele dag braak…
    Jy hanteer dit werklik ongelooflik goed en so ook elke ander hindernis wat oor jul pad kom! Ek haal my hoed af vir jou.
    Sterkte met Boeta se scan, ek glo dat alles 100% sal wees en dat hy Maandag met chemo kan begin…
    Sterkte en mag jul ‘n heerlike naweek he!
    Jul bly in my hart en gebede

  2. Thinking of you guys and praying that Boeta can have the scan on Friday!

  3. I don’t envy you dealing with all that vomit.
    How were the lungs looking today?

  4. Baie sterkte Suzaan! hoop regtig dat alles teen more volgens pan sal verloop.

Leave a Reply

