What a downright crappy day

I should never have gotten up today.  The sun shouldn’t have risen and we should’ve skipped ahead to tomorrow.  But no such luck.

Instead today turned into a one of those that I would rather forget. 

Boeta woke up with croup this morning.  He started with that typical barking cough during the night.  By this morning he was obviously not feeling well.  To give you an idea of how badly he feels:  Yesterday he didn’t nap at all.  At 18:45 today he was busy with his 3rd nap for the day…  He hasn’t eaten anything today.  Partly because his throat hurts and partly because he is nauseous. 

I feel horrible.  He didn’t want to be nebulised and I had to be the bad cop and use my “I am serious” voice.  And eventually I had to hold him down for it.  And then I continued to hold him down for a tube to be shoved down his nose to collect snot mucous for a respiratory virus panel test.  If possible he hates that even more than he hates the booster injections.  And he really really deplore booster injections.  He was completely wiped out after the fighting and fell asleep in my arms.

He slept for more than an hour and woke up asking for me.  When I walked into the room he was lying on the floor vomiting.  Since he hasn’t eaten or drunk anything the whole day it was only bright yellow bile coming out.  Afterwards we lay on the bed again and he slept some more.

My mom brought Carien for a visit this afternoon and it brightened up his day no end.  He talked for the first time  – him being quiet is just as rare an occurence as me being quiet and equally unsettling.  By the time I left this evening (Wouter’s dad is overnighting again) he started with a fever (37.8C)  I really hope it is just a blip.  I’ve pinned my hopes on going home on Saturday at around lunch time.  If he gets sick now we will definately stay longer.

On a happier note, I spent his first nap of the day baking pancakes for the nursing staff.  I brought two 2L bottles with pancake batter, my pan, spatula and a gas cooker (I had to get special permission to do this).  And the cinnamon and sugar.  After this we’d better be their favourite patients.  Or else I might just start crying.

5 Responses

  1. Thinking of you and still praying for protection and healing. You are such an inspiration to me. Holding thumbs for Saturday!

  2. You don’t know me — but I read your blog everyday and pray for you and your son. If I could give you a hug right now I would — you are such an amazing women and a fantastic Mom. I just wanted you to know that.

  3. you are super-mom. looking after woutertjie and carien and all the nurses !!

  4. Oh I’m so very sorry to hear how horrible this day was. Bianca absolutely hates those nose swabs more than most other things. I think the NG tube was possibly worse and the injections into her leg, but other than that, that is really bad.

    I pray very hard that you are able to go home on Saturday and I pray very hard that Woutertjie feels better really soon!

  5. Sjoe Suz I am pretty certain that you ARE their favourite patients. You are phenomenal!

Leave a Reply

