Bertus

Wouter’s family is complicated to explain.  His father had a sister, many years older than him.  Her children are only a couple of years younger than my father-in-law.  As such Wouter generally regards his cousins’ children more like cousins than he does his cousins.  I told you it was complicated.

Tonight we heard that Bertus, one of his “cousins”, committed suicide.  He was 33.

I will miss him so much.  He had many worries and problems and whenever he felt he had no-one to turn to, he would phone me.  And then we would spend an eternity on the phone.  We spoke until he felt better.  Sometimes it would take half an hour, sometimes an hour and a half.  And every time I would put the phone down with a smile.  Even in the times of his deepest sorrow he would be bitingly funny and brighten my day as I tried to brighten his.

bertus

May you rest in peace Bertus.  May heaven enfold you with the happiness and fulfillment that evaded you on earth.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  –   Matthew 11:28

3 Responses

  1. I’m so sorry to hear. My dad also committed suicide many years ago and one will never truly understand why. I pray that you will all find comfort and strength during this time. Bertus, may you rest in peace!

  2. My condolences to your family. Hope he has finally found peace. Keeping you in my prayers.

  3. I’m so very sorry for your loss

Leave a Reply

