Why things happen the way they do

This year we have been tested in so many ways and we have been faced with so many unplanned things.  And yet, looking back at the last 6 months I can only sit back and marvel.

In this hectic time nothing, and I mean nothing, happened in a less than perfect way.  The timing of everything was perfect.  Tonight I am specifically amazed by the fact that I am a stay-at-home-onco-mom at this time in Wouter’s career.

He has been working 18 hour days for weeks now, trying to develop and implement systems.  The children haven’t seen him at all today.  He left (long) before they woke up and only returned (long) after they went to bed.  If I was working as well (working in the formal sector, I mean 😉 ) there is no way that we could’ve coped.  There is no way that the children would’ve coped.  When I got back from work they always fell over their feet to get to me, on me and over me.  Imagine them trying to understand why they only saw Mommy for a bit every day and didn’t see Daddy at all.

Now when they are missing Wouter too much we drive to his office and take some treat for him.  They see him and feel better, he sees them and feels better.  And I see all of them feeling better and that makes me feel better too.

2 Responses

  1. Love that you visit him at the office, that’s so special!

  2. you certainly have been tested this year suzanne.

Leave a Reply

