Lest we forget

We were reminded again not to plan anything or count on anything or think ahead.  Woutertjie is back in hospital.  He had fever this afternoon (38) but it cleared by the time we got to the hospital.  He has been constantly nauseous since his chemo 10 days ago and it should have been better long ago.  Right after I let Gerrit know that he had fever, Boeta had another vomiting spell but this time with blotches of blood in it.

So now we are in our second home again ;-).  Gerrit ordered a nasal wash for viral PCR.  We will know soon enough if anything is lurking.  Actually I have no doubt that something is lurking – Carien and I are both sick after all.  Boeta was very upset at the physiotherapist who did the nasal wash.  She squirted saline into his nose and then sucked it out again with a long tube.  He is telling everyone to not allow her into his room ever ever again.  Gerrit tried to explain to Boeta that he ordered it and why.  Boeta isn’t interested in any explainations.  She did it, she is on the persona non grata list and that is it.

Gerrit suspects Boeta may have gastritis following all his vomiting.  Last I heard he was conferring with Cristina on the phone about this.  I suspect they are going to medicate him for it and then see if it works.  I wouldn’t mind if he started eating again.  It is definately not what I am used to.

Carien is feeling better.  Her nose is less runny and she is back to being her usual sunny self.  Based on how long she felt bad I suspect we might be here for a while… Please say a prayer for us.  We want to go home.

5 Responses

  1. As always you are in my thoughts and prayers. Hoping that whatever is lurking will “beat it” soon and I agree we all are allowed to have a “persona non grata”-list!

  2. Hope he gets home quickly.

    btw, here’s another blog for you to read… think you might get something out of it. Her kids have not got cancer but she’s struggling with their health too… http://www.mythreeringcircus.com/

  3. Sal ‘n gebedjie ook opsê, maar het gedink jy kan dalk doen hiermee:

    Words for Women to Live By 🙂

    1. Aspire to be Barbie – the b*ch has everything.

    2. If the shoe fits – buy them in every color.

    3. Take life with a pinch of salt… A wedge of lime, and a shot of tequila.

    4. In need of a support group? – Cocktail hour with the girls!

    5. Go on the 30 day diet. (I’m on it and so far I’ve lost 15 days).

    6. When life gets you down – just put on your big girl panties and deal with it.

    7. Let your greatest fear be that there is no PMS and this is just your personality.

    8. I know I’m in my own little world, but it’s ok. They know me here.

    9. Lead me not into temptation, I can find it myself.

    10. Don’t get your knickers in a knot; it solves nothing and makes you walk funny.

    11. When life gives you lemons in 2009 – turn it into lemonade then mix it with vodka.

    12. Keep your chin up, only the first 40 years of parenthood are the hardest.

    13. If it has Tires or Testicles it’s gonna give you trouble.

    14. By the time a women realizes her mother was right, she has a daughter who thinks she’s wrong.

  4. Ek hoop dit gaan al beter. Ek wens daar was iets wat ek vir jou kan doen. Miskien is dit nou tyd om ‘n “support groep” op die been te bring en jou soms af te los om “my” tyd te kan hê. Bid vir julle

  5. Just because I read your posts, marvel at your sense of humour, and wish that I could magically make things right for Woutertjie.

    Much love
    Janet

Leave a Reply

