Note to self: never plan

I’ve always been a planner.  I thrive on predictability.  Most people don’t know this because I don’t keep a diary or dayplanner or anything like that.  But I’ve got it all up here *taps head*.  Wouter has tried to convert me to project planning software but after many years he had to admit that I don’t need software.  I’m doing pretty well on my own.

This year is teaching me to be adaptable.  In a big way.

Woutertjie has been very nauseous the last few days, with the frequency and intensity of vomiting increasing daily.  The Zofran (ondansetron) isn’t working any more.  This morning even I could see that he was dehydrating.  The skin on his stomach was “soft” and “wrinkly”.  So we went to hospital a bit earlier than usual and me being me, I told the nurses that he needed fluid.  No asking, just telling.  It is a good thing they know and love me! 😀  Gerrit came to have a look and agreed with my diagnosis and recommendation.  See?  I could be a paediatrician.

He received 600ml of half-DD (saline with dextrose – a type of sugar) and 200ml of chemo by the time he went for radiation and didn’t urinate once.  He really needed fluid.  Cristina changed his anti-nausea drugs and it seems like he is feeling better now.

Gerrit recommended and we agreed that it would be the prudent thing to do to keep Boeta in hospital overnight on a drip.  This week he is receiving chemo, radiation and anaesthetic every single day.  One of these would be enough to flatten an adult.  All three together?  Eish.  It is a lot better for him to keep hydrated and to actually eat and digest something.  He currently weighs 16kg.  He was diagnosed on 19kg.  He has dropped about 15% of his body weight and he wasn’t chubby to start with.  I really looked at him yesterday as I was dressing him.  His is skin and bones.   His ribs and backbone are clearly visible.  His arms look fragile-thin.  His knees are huge bumps on his tiny legs.  He looks sick.

At least he seemed to want to make up for lost kilojoules now that he is feeling less nausesous.  He had a small packet of chips and a small container of yoghurt by the time I left tonight.  And he seemed to be keeping it in.  This is a huge improvement.

Next week and the week after he is having a break from chemo.  He is continuing with radiation though but will finish his sessions the week after next.  And the week after that we start with the next block of chemo.  It will be the same that he received right in the beginning.  He wasn’t as nauseous on that so we are hoping that he will pick up some weight then.  Please carry us in your prayers for the next days and weeks.  Once the radiation is done we will have reached a huge milestone.  He has 9 sessions left.

2 Responses

  1. Thinking of you all every day!!

  2. Amper daar skoonsus.x

Leave a Reply

