13/28 and we are home!

There are some things that I’ve wanted for years but no one ever gifted me with it.  One of them is a set of salad spoons and the other a proper pancake pan.  Let me add that I never even looked to buy it for myself because it was fun to see how long I would not have it and still get by.

Imagine my delight when I received both of the above for Christmas and my birthday last year.  Actually, Christmas and my birthday (on Christmas Day) are a bit of a blur as Boeta was diagnosed on the 24th and we rushed him to hospital on the 25th with fever and unresponsive.  But now that things have settled I am delighted!

I’ve used the salad spoons before but tonight I used the pancake pan for the first time.  Oh my word.  It is so much easier with a light, thin-bottomed pan!  I should’ve bought one long ago.  Now I just need another one to speed up the baking…..  Any bets on how many years will pass before I get one? 😀

The day off from radiation and the different nausea meds they gave him really did the trick.  Boeta is feeling so much better!  As he stopped vomiting we were sent home on Friday evening.  Boeta has discovered toasted cheese sandwiches and Fanta Grape.  Needless to say his diet is very predictable at this stage.

The most amazing thing happened yesterday.  Since the start of this whole journey Boeta had a thing against scans / x-rays /  radiation machines and the people who operate it.  In particular he hated the “Buzz Lightyear spaceship” (the radiation machine) which is why he has to get anaesthetic every time.  He wouldn’t even go near the corridor leading to that unit.  Yesterday we were taking a leisurely stroll through the hospital, we had tea in the cafeteria, we watched the Kois in the fish pond and then I asked if he wanted to go and visit the “tannies” at the Buzz Lightyear spaceship.  And he said yes.  I’ve been asking the same question for weeks in an attempt to get him to get him to face his fear but he usually screams as soon as I suggest it.  I started in that direction (he was taking it easy in a wheelchair) but expected him to change his mind at any time. 

We went through the doors leading to the corridor.  And he didn’t stop me.

We walked all the way down the corridor.  And he didn’t stop me.  In fact, it slopes downhill and he kept on urging me to let go of the chair so that he could go fast like Lightning McQueen. *insert rolling eyes here*

We even met Elizna, the anaethetist and Nici, the right-hand nurse on the way.  He hugged them, told them looooong stories and simply was having a good time.  He never mentioned the “white medicine” once. 

I still didn’t think he would actually go into the radiation unit.  My son astounded me and all the staff.  We went to right outside the radiation chamber and he had loads of fun chatting to the radiotherapists who usually only see him when he is anaethetised.  He also loved watching the other patients receiving radiation on the monitors.  And he was Alex the lion and chased Marileze (the radiotherapist) who was Marty the zebra (refer the movie Madagascar) up and down.  I had to drag him away. 

Later he received his anaesthetic and radiation and woke up with a big, drugged smile.  He seems to have made peace with the white medicine and the radiation.  I am so grateful.  Dealing with his fear has been very hard on me and very hard on him.  I’ve prayed so long for this and I am so grateful!

4 Responses

  1. And once again, just shows how well prayer works hey! I’m so very glad for you that he has come to accept it more and I guess that kids are happy with anything in life as long as it is on their terms and they still feel like they are in control.

  2. Hoe ongelooflik is dit!!!! Net om weer te bewys dat sy onbewuste hom beskerm het tot hy gereed was om ook hierdie groot stap te neem. Kinders is ongelooflik resilient! Saam met julle bly oor die dag “af” en dat die nuwe naar-meds help!

  3. ai, dank die Goeie Vader vir genade.

    Vriendin, ek vlieg oormore, maar sal seker eers in die week van die 4de sien. Kannie wag nie.

    e

  4. This is a happy post. It made me happy – I am sure it must make you even happier!

Leave a Reply

