12/28

One more down.

Turns out it is no wonder that Woutertjie is having a combination of explosive vomiting and expressive diarrhoea. 

The side-effects of radiation (radiation sickness) are vomiting and diarrhoea.

The side-effects of the chemo are vomiting and diarrhoea.

The side-effect of the anaesthetic is vomiting.

And a side-effect of dehydration is nausea.

Wouter mentioned that it is less of a vicious circle and more of a vicious spiral, where things only go downhill.

Between the paediatrician, oncologist and aneathetist they have now changed his medication to see if they can manage to control his symptoms better.  Until it is better controlled he is staying in hospital on a drip to keep him hydrated.

So tonight Wouter’s dad is sleeping over in hospital with Boeta.  They love each other to bits.  And it means that Wouter can get some sleep.  He stayed over at hospital last night.  Note that I used the word “stayed” and not “slept”.  When I arrived at hospital this morning Boeta and I went for a walk about in hospital and Wouter had his sleep for the night – 1.5 hours.  And then he went to work.  I don’t know how much work he got done today but if he didn’t fall asleep on his computer it would be a superhuman feat in my books!

I need to give you an example of how much I love my husband.  Today my mom sat with Boeta for a bit so that I could get some air.  I went to Wouter’s office and made him some coffee in an attempt to wake him up.  His response?  “You are being nice to me.  You are confusing me.”  I love him so much, I didn’t assault him.  Aren’t I the bestest wife in the world?

One Response

  1. Hugs, prayers and positive thoughts, every day you get through is one day closer to that last day of radiation and ultimately treatment!

Leave a Reply

