So I’ve got good news and I’ve got bad news

The bad news? I think I am coming down with a cold.

The good news? Boeta’s full blood count is practically normal!

Hb 9.6
white cells 4.4
neutrophils 3.3
platelets 336

Add to that the absence of any other side-effects from the chemo and radiation. I am torn between the knowledge that our prayers are being answered and the fear that the treatment isn’t working.  Isn’t that ridiculous?

Either way, things are good.  We are going in to hospital for chemo and radiation tomorrow.  Until Friday we will do the in and out thing for both and then on Saturday he will get chemo only.

Now I just need my mucous membranes to get the message that it is time to cease and desist.  I really don’t have the energy to try and shield Woutertjie from my germs.  I am still hopeful that it is only bad hayfever.

4 Responses

  1. Dit is so absoluut normaal om te twyfel of die behandeling werk. As dit nie soms gebeur het nie, was jy nie ‘n normale menslike wese nie. Ek is net so verskriklik dankbaar dat Woutertjie die behandeling so goed hanteer . Ek vertrou dat die volgende paar behandelings net so goed afloop.

  2. I think what you feel is normal. My advice for the cold – use lots and lots of hand gel. That’s what we use and it does seem to make a difference (and besides his neutrophils and white cell counts are good so that will most definitely make a difference).

    Hugs, prayers and positive thoughts!!!!

  3. Intussen, drink Advil C’s en allergex. Gelyktydig. Dis die vinnigste wat ek ‘n verkoue op sy plek sit.

  4. Ai vrou, watse wonderlike nuus is dit nie van Wouter se bloed nie. EK hoop rerig dit bly so!

    Ek hoop nie jy kry verkoue nie!!!! Ek dink aan jou!

Leave a Reply

