Separation of the sexes

If you told me 3 months ago that Wouter and I would willingly spend the night in two separate houses I wouldn’t have believed you.  And if you added that we would divide the children between us I would’ve worried about your sanity.

And yet, Carien and I spent last night at my parents’ house while W & w spent the night at our house. 

Carien wasn’t a happy camper last night.  She was feverish and just plain miserable.  But when this morning dawned that was all forgotten.  She woke me up by pulling my eyelids open and when I blinked into consciousness she gave me a big soppy lippy kiss.  It was a good way to wake up.

Dr Stefan was right – Carien’s tummy was very upset until this morning.  It seemed to get better by late morning and she was OK by afternoon.  So we were reintroduced to each other.  She is still not in peak condition and went to bed half an hour earlier than usual.  Very unusual for her.

Boeta is in top form.  He is very pale (I expect he is going to need a blood transfusion sooner rather than later) but insists on climbing on top of the coffee table to watch his DVDs.  So he seems fine.  Cristina told me to watch out for changes in his personality as an indication of something being off.  It is actually a very handy parameter.

The members of the church band that Wouter is involved in have given a voucher for a couples massage to us.  How divine!  They know Wouter very well and realised that he is sorely overdue for some relaxation.  And now I am included in the package.  I looove beauty treatments.  I don’t go often though.  So I am going to make the most of this!  Thank you Antionette and the gang!

PS:  Of course after writing about how well he is doing we now have the unnerving scenario that Boeta’s temperature has gone from 37.5 to 37.7 in the last 2 or 3 hours.  I spoke to the sister at the hospital and if it reaches 38 we will be off to the ward immediately.  So please start praying that we don’t have to go to hospital tonight!

3 Responses

  1. Hey jy, ek het gou kom inloer om te kyk hoe dit met jou en Carien gaan. EK is bly julle kon darem vandag terug gaan huis toe.

    Ai, ek hoop rerig Wouter se koors het laag gebly, en dat dit nie nodig is om hospitaal toe te gaan nie.

    ((((((((((((((((Hugs))))))))))))))))

    N

  2. Hope that all goes well tonight

  3. Praying his temperature goes down!

Leave a Reply

