OK then

The FBC is back.  It looks like this:

Hb 6.6

White cell count 0.3

Neutrophils 0.03

Platelets 96

All of these are low.  So low that the oncologist made an unplanned trip to see Woutertjie because he is supposed to be one very sick child.  So imagine her surprise when she walked into the room and he was bouncing off the walls and running around and talking non-stop. 

The child on the paper and the child on the bed are not the same child.  Mostly because the child on the bed managed to crawl under the bed in the time it took to write this sentence. 

They went ahead with his chemo for the day (Vincristine) and he is receiving a blood transfusion later today.  The paediatrician wants him to sleep over for observation and then tomorrow we will start with GCSF booster injections on his legs.  He hates it.  Please wish us luck.

Woutertjie is having his nap at the moment.  It is the first time today that he is still!  We are so blessed.  He should have been very sick by now based on his blood results.  We haven’t been isolating him because we thought his immunity would be good.  He has been in contact with so many germs and still he is 100% fine.  That, my friends, is the power of prayer.  Please keep on praying.

9 Responses

  1. These blood results sound familiar to our story – quite normal for our treatment in fact! And prayer is a great thing. He will be bouncing off the walls even more after his blood transfusion. Every blessing x

  2. Hope the transfusion goes ok!

  3. Het nou net by myself gesit en dink – as die mannetjie so kan karjakker met so min Hb, wil ek nie naby wees as dit weer normale vlakke beryk nie! 🙂

  4. I prayed today for God to keep you so strong. I think you are doing a great, great job – something that cannot be easy for any parent.

  5. My beurt om te blog.
    Ek het vanoggend my mammies gaan gramm.

    Yip, vir die laaste drie weke wat ek moes wag vir die afspraak was my senuwees nie te goed nie. Het al nagmerries begin kry van hoe hulle die uitslae een kyk gee, ‘n mes gryp en sê kom hier dat ons kan afsny, daar is nie ‘n oomblik te verspil nie.

    Sien my een kollega het laasjaar ‘n dubbelle mastektomie gehad, my een oom is dood aan kolonkanker, en ‘n ander tannie van my is gediagnoseer daarmee. Dan praat ek nie eens van Woutertjie nie. Kanker is deesdae so al om mens dat die duiwel oppie skouer lekker kos het vir paniek.

    So begin dink ek toe al wat sal ek nou maak as die uitslae positief is. Reken toe ek gaan my huis en kar verkoop, op ‘n laaang oorseese reis gaan en in die algemeen al my geld uitleef en elke oomblik geniet. Geen geworry oor ‘n oudag nie, geen nodigheid om verder te werk nie, en ek sien my Pa sommer ook dan binnekort weer. Wel, mens moet mos darem die positiewe kant van dinge ook probeer raaksien.

    Heelaas, dit is net ‘n fibroadenoom (skadelose ou knoppietjie), en ek is maar weer terug by die werk. Ek sê heelaas, want sommer onmiddellik moes ek weer die errenis van kliente hanteer.

    Maar moenie geflous wees nie. Ek het soos ‘n riet gebeef agterna en bly dankie, Dankie, DANKIE! sê.

    Nog ‘n GROOT DANKIE aan die Hemelse Vader wat my vandag gespaar het. Mag hy dieselfde vir elkeen van julle doen.

    e

  6. Ek volg Woutertjie se vordering al ‘n geruime tyd nadat ‘n vriendin my via facebook gevra het om vir hom te bid.
    Baie sterkte en seën. Ek hoop julle het ‘n geseende dag beleef.

  7. Ai SUzanne, ek lees vir drie dae nie, en nou vind ek uit boeta is al weer in die hospitaal.

    Sterkte vir julle!!!!

  8. It is shocking that a person has to think so intensely of money when a child needs medical care – the medical care is out there but money blocks the way…most parents most probably pray to be in your and Wouter’s position.

    My heart and prayers go out to the 4 year old boy’s family!!!

  9. Wow, his counts are so low, I’m so glad he did not pick up any bugs! But I’m so glad he is doing really well despite the low counts!

Leave a Reply

