OK, I’ll update! Stop nagging!

Oh my.  If I even wondered if people actually read the blog I don’t have to anymore! 😉

I’ve received so many calls, comments, emails and Facebook messages asking if we are OK.  Yes, we are OK.  I’ve been a very bad blogger but I blame that on Woutertjie.  For no good reason, it is just that you aren’t allowed to be angry at Boeta and now I can get away with it.  Blame those who can’t type back!

The chemo finished on Wednesday afternoon and we were allowed to go home soon after.  Woutertjie was very nauseous on Wednesday morning when he woke up.  He says the krokkenoster bites him and then he gets nauseous and then he spits (ek spoeg!).  Fortunately he responds very well to Zofran (anti-nausea meds) and he was better soon.  He ate Weetbix for breakfast and then demanded more.  And white milk (wit melkies).  For some reason flavoured milk is very last chemo.

For the first time I spent less than an hour trying to get him away from the hospital.  It took only 50 minutes to persuade him to go home.  But only because I promised that he could give the “ontslag” card to the office.  (What is “ontslag” in English?  I can’t think of the word.)  He was very disappointed when he couldn’t put it in a machine like a parking ticket.  He had to give it to a person.  He almost decided to go back.

On Wednesday morning the oncologist (Dr Stefan) and the paediatrician (Dr de Villiers) arrived at the same time for ward rounds.  I liked having them there at the same time.  Dr Stefan is satisfied with Boeta’s progress and amazed at how good he looks.  She almost had a nervous breakdown when I told her that Boeta wants to climb trees and ride his bicycle.  When the first chemo started on the 6th of January I asked her if there was anything that he shouldn’t do and she said that I shouldn’t worry, he wouldn’t want to do anything anyway.  She says he is receiving very high doses of chemo.  No one bothered to tell him.  Or he decided not to listen (which wouldn’t surprise me).  Whichever way, Boeta is doing well and is driving Carien nuts.

4 Responses

  1. And you know what? I love it when these kids prove the doctors wrong, good on your little man!!!

    PS. Ontslag is probably discharge.

  2. Glad it’s going so well.

    (((HUGS)))

  3. EK is bly dit het so goed gegaan. Ek het gewonder hoe dit gaan die afgelope paar dae.

  4. Glad things are going so well.. Yes, Onslag is discharge..

    We are still praying for you guys!

Leave a Reply

