Lost: Routine. Reward offered.

Oh my word.  I never thought I would miss routine as much as I do!

We’ve never been routine-parents.  We are a children-driven family.  This is pretty-speak for saying our home life is chaos!  The only fixed thing (except for when it isn’t fixed) is bedtime.  Both Boeta and Carien go to bed at 20:30.  Or they used to. 

Hospital living has hit bedtime with a nasty upper cut to the jaw.  In hospital Boeta isn’t as active as he usually is, isn’t tired and struggles to go to sleep.  I arrive home after 20:00 and play with Carien until she falls asleep from exhaustion. 

Now we are home but bedtime is just a faint, pleasant memory.  It is now 22:00 and both little monsters are finally in bed.  I suspect Boeta isn’t sleeping yet but at least he is on his way to dreamland.

Wouter and I haven’t said more than “hallo, are you making tea or am I” since he got home.  So excuse me but I am off now to try and have a conversation with my husband before we both fall asleep from exhaustion.  I expect that will be about 10 minutes from now.  Sweet dreams!

2 Responses

  1. I know what you mean about bedtime. We try very hard to stick to bedtime routine, but it doesn’t always go as we plan (and it is even harder when we have daylight savings time and it only gets dark at around 20:30 or 21:00)

    Hang in there and soon you will find a comfortable routine again (might not be the same as before, but it will be one that will work for you)

  2. 🙂 I just had to smile.

Leave a Reply

