Day 3 of 5

Boeta passed his pre-inspection and chemo may go ahead today.

Every morning he is checked out by both the paediatrician and the oncologist to make sure he is healthy enough to receive the day’s chemo.  And thank God, every day until now he has received the all clear.  So as soon as the chemo drugs arrive from the oncology unit he will start.  He is on a drip 24 hours anyway so it doesn’t bother him.  He is treating the tubes like extra arms – he isn’t even aware of them.

This morning he refused breakfast, apart from his (double portion) bacon.  He finished it and demanded more.  And when the hospital couldn’t deliver quickly enough he insisted that we phone my mother and tell her to bring some from home.  So any time now Ouma should arrive with his bacon.  Lots and lots of it because that is what he asked for and that is what he will get!  Grandparents.  *shakes head*

I asked my mom a while ago why she allows my children to do things that I wasn’t allowed to do.  She gave me The Look and said simply:  “You are my child.  I had to raise you well.  They are my grandchildren.  You have to raise them well.”  I couldn’t argue with the logic.

Wouter’s father, aka Oupa Skippie (Grandfather Boat because he has a rubberduck), has been staying with Boeta the last two nights.  They both love it!  When we leave they are usually sitting flat on the floor playing.  Ouma Skattie (Grandmother Dear) is looking after Carien today because my dad is going for an eye operation.  I think they are going to have lots of fun.  Carien is such a girly girl and loves drawing, colouring and anything pretty.  What do people without attentive family and friends do?  I don’t even want to think about how we would’ve struggled.  Thank you to all the grandparents, uncles, aunts, cousins, friends and supporters.

Boeta has now decided that he wants pink (strawberry flavoured) milk.  So I am off to find some.  Because chocolate milk is no good when you need to have pink.  Any bets that he will not want it by the time I get back? 🙂

4 Responses

  1. ooh, jou ma kon die Dalai Lama gewees het.

  2. I LOLled when I read that bit about grandma’s spoiling grandparents – very true!

  3. Bianca also went through a bacon phase and if she could have it every day she would :-).

    We don’t have any family here with us and of all the family it is only really my mom who has showed an active interest since we were diagnosed. The majority of the family stopped writing to us a long time ago and so we don’t get included in their updates and they don’t seem particularly interested in commenting or responding to our updates. Oh well, you can’t force people to be interested. But we have each other and we have the wonderful support of the Child Cancer Foundation and certainly we’ve made some lovely friends since our journey began.

    I’m so glad that you are able to stay on your schedule. Only 2 more days and then a bit of a break.

    Hugs and prayers!

  4. I love the header photo!

Leave a Reply

