No! Mommy! Help me!

Today Boeta’s plasters covering the Broviac line (permanent drip in his chest) were changed again.  I can’t stand it anymore.  He has become scared of plasters because they have to be removed and it hurts.  Now he screams and cries as soon as anyone mentions the word and I have to try and calm him down while the nurses do it as quickly as possible. 

It all started on Christmas Day.  He had to get general (full) anaesthetic for his CT scan on the 24th and they taped the 2 drips to his arms with those wide, white plaster.  From wrist to upperarm.  So on Christmas Day after seeing the oncologist the drips had to be removed and they had to pull off all that plaster.  He was screaming with pain and I had to help calm him down.

The nurses in the paediatric ward have been wonderful with his drips – they put gauze against his skin so the plaster didn’t hurt him.  But now the Broviac needs to be held in place against his chest and they want to change the plasters daily…

Boeta hates being held down.  This is also a new thing – he never minded before.  After a couple of xrays and plasters he now goes ballistic about it.  So I tell him that he can hold onto my hands while they are doing the plaster, meanwhile I grip his hands as tightly as possible to keep him from pulling on the line while trying to fight the nurses off.  It is getting to me in a big way and I just have to suck it up and deal with it.  I don’t want to have to hold my baby down.   I don’t want to have to tell him that it is almost over.  I want him to run around and feel better.  I want him to be healthy.  I want him to be muddy and filthy and tired from chasing the dogs around. 

I don’t want to hear him crying to me for help and I can’t do anything to make it better.

10 Responses

  1. I have no words just know we are always there for you in any way.

  2. Im so so sorry today is a bad day
    sending you loads of warm hugs
    take care xo

  3. ((((HUGS))))

  4. Vriendin, zen hugs is so ontoereikend. Wens ek kan jou net styf vashou.

  5. Oh Suzanne, I’m so sorry! Bianca also hates having plasters pulled off / dressings changed. The only thing that seems to help her a little bit is when I use “remove”, takes longer, but seems to be less traumatic. So I would then lift up a little bit of the dressing / plaster and then use the remove to “wipe” underneath where the glue bit is and that seems to help getting it off and being less painful.

    You guys are in my prayers all the time and I think of you everyday!

    Hugs, and special hugs to your brave little man!

  6. Hi Suzanne. We have the same thing with Catherine. She would rather have pain or a lumbar puncture than have a plaster! It is so difficult sometimes, but we just need to remember that everything we do is helping our child get better, even if sometimes it seems so out of our hands. Lea’s suggestion to use ‘remove’ on the plasters would probably help. It helps when we get the plasters off Cath. Praying for you all.

  7. There is no greater pain than a mother watching her child suffering. It would be so wonderful if we could switch bodies and do it for them!
    I’m so sorry that you are going through this very hard time.
    Praying for your family and sending love.
    Hope tomorrow is a better day for you all!
    x

  8. Suzanne, Wouter,

    I will pray for you – but cannot give you advice – it is hard.

    I pray, Lord, that you sustain Suzanne and Wouter and that you bring this whole process to completion in jesus name.

    Amen

  9. Ek bid dat julle die nodige krag sal vind. Onthou God is wonderlik en hy sal genesing bring. Hy het my al so baie geseen en hou aan om my daagliks te seen. Hy sal dit vir julle ook doen. Baie baie sterkte. xxx

    Is daar ‘n email adres waar ek vir julle ‘n gedig kan mail. My ma is sopas met kanker gediagnoseer en die gedig het vir haar en vir my baie beteken.

  10. Dink aan julle al 4. As daar ooit iets is waarmee ek julle kan help, please just ask!
    Drukkies

Leave a Reply

