The Panorama Barbershop opened yesterday

For the first time in history there was a multiple hair shaving in Panorama’s paediatric ward. 

Yesterday I started with a long winded, roundabout story to prepare Boeta for having his remaining hair cut and eventually going bald.  I told him that Wouter (daddy) was unhappy with his own hair because he had to constantly wash it and it was falling out and being in his way and he was planning on cutting it all off.  And lo and behold, Boeta interrupted my tale by saying: “Yes, and then daddy can cut my hair off as well.”

No issues, no questions, just a statement.  Aren’t children amazing? 

The night before (Sunday night) Woutertjie repeatedly told Wouter’s dad that his hair was breaking off and that it was bothering him because it got in his mouth and nose.  He really hates hair.  Now, after the barbershop attempt he looks like a mouse got hold of him – some patches are completely bald from all the “breaking hair” and some still has tufts of hair left over. 

I didn’t think seeing him without hair would bother me.  After all it is only hair.  But this morning when I got to hospital and saw him through the window to his room he looked so small and so bald and so sick.  Why does one unconsciously equate hair with health?  I never knew I did. 

Fortunately no-one told him that he is sick.  He is watching the Bee Movie at the moment, lazying on his bed.  If you didn’t know him you’d think he was perfectly fine.  If you knew him you would know that there is no way that he would lie and sit around the whole day.  He used to be very active, very outdoorsy and very dirty.  He used to be clean for about 2 minutes every day – the exact time between getting out of the bath and getting dressed.  You know how a dog rolls in the dust after a bath to “find itself” again?  That’s our son.  Well, the day will come again when he is outdoors and dirty.  For now he smells like hospital.

4 Responses

  1. I think it’s very cool that he’s ok to be bald… I can imagine how different he looks though, but I’m glad he’s comfortable with it.

  2. We didn’t get Bianca’s hair shaved in the hospital, Bianca and I went to a hairdresser and I got mine done at the same time because I felt sorry that she had to lose her hair by herself. It didn’t bother Bianca one bit and I think it was just a relief not to have to wake up with hair everywhere. And we got so used to her with no hair so quickly.

    But it will grow back, before you know it!

    Hugs to you all and your special brave little boy!!!

  3. Suz and Wout,

    (i’ll type in english so everyone can understand)

    My heart is breaking for you guys. I know that we still have so much to be thankful for, but ya… I guess it’s only human to keep on asking questions.

    Even though you’re my sister and super cool brother in law, I have to say, I am immensly proud of the both of you. You have shown such strong characters, convictions and faith throughout this ordeal. I only hope that when I have my own one day (when i grow up!) to be half the parents you are.

    I love you both very very much and I miss the Gummibear immensly. I’m believing that soon things will be back to normal and I’ll come visit over weekends and eat your food. 🙂

    God bless you. Hugs and kisses.

  4. I am thinking of you. It must be really tough.

Leave a Reply

